Yorkshire – East Riding Terminology

Yorkshire One of the 92 counties of ancient origin which for centuries formed, and continue to form, a commonly agreed way of referring to the different parts of the United Kingdom. Existed for over 1,000 years to the present day. Yorkshire is the three Ridings and the City of York. Yorkshire is a traditional/historic county.

The East Riding (of Yorkshire) “Riding” is “thrithing” – a Viking word meaning a third part. There are three Ridings East, North and West. In 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 the East Riding ceased to be used as an administrative area. Existed for over 1,000 years to the present day. The East Riding is one of the three Ridings of the traditional/historic county of Yorkshire.

East Yorkshire An administrative district created by the local Government Act 1972 solely “for the administration of local government”.  Existed from 1981 to 1996. (Between 1974 and 1981 the district was called North Wolds) East Yorkshire was an administrative District in the county of Humberside.

East Riding of Yorkshire Is the name of a unitary local government area created in 1996. It is also the name of a lieutenancy area or ceremonial county which comprises the local government areas of East Riding of Yorkshire and Kingston upon Hull. Existed from 1996 to present day. East Riding of Yorkshire is an administrative area.

This entry was posted in East Riding. Bookmark the permalink.