Yorkshire – North Riding Terminology

Yorkshire One of the 92 counties of ancient origin which for centuries formed, and continue to form, a commonly agreed way of referring to the different parts of the United Kingdom. Existed for over 1,000 years to the present day. Yorkshire is the three Ridings and the City of York. Yorkshire is a traditional/historic county.

The North Riding (of Yorkshire) “Riding” is “thrithing” – a Viking word meaning a third part. There are three Ridings East, North and West. In 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 the North Riding ceased to be used as an administrative area. Existed for over 1,000 years to the present day. The North Riding is one of the three Ridings of the traditional/historic county of Yorkshire.

North Yorkshire An administrative county created by the local Government Act 1972 solely “”for the administration of local government””. It is also the name of a lieutenancy area or ceremonial county. Existed from 1974 onwards. North Yorkshire is an administrative and ceremonial county.

This entry was posted in North Riding. Bookmark the permalink.